Smuggler


Rum lugger, gin smuggler

His wary craft a shadow

Skimming rocks and cutting waves

Through ocean’s ghostly glow

The wink of gold a telltale

Silent laugh at fog and night

Hidden hand upon the throttle

Poised awaiting wild flight

His liquid treasures dormant

On their long, illicit ride

Fire caught in slender bottles

On which he hangs his life

And slyly playing Lady Risk

Nary a worry nor a sigh

Rum lugger, gin smuggler

All his fortune on the tides.

© 2012, Elizabeth Cook

24 comments

  1. Of course I wanted to see who’s reading me and this is the first piece of work that popped up in my face. Marvelous! I would love to read it out loud, all dressed up in pirate garb. Thanks for sharing.

  2. This poem was epic and, like Melvin, made me want to dress up like a pirate…too bad halloween’s past. It made me want to risk it all on the high seas or jump into a Pirate of the Caribbean movie. Every word was loaded and chosen carefully for its purpose.

    “Rum lugger, gin smuggler
    All his fortune on the tides.”

    Love it!

    1. I was trying to think of a name for a pirate game (within a game) and Johnny Depp’s line, “Where’s the rum gone?!” instantly came to mind. That turned into “rum lugger”…

  3. “Fire caught in slender bottles / On which he hangs his life” <– That's my favourite line. Love the imagery. 🙂

  4. Reblogged this on The Caravan and commented:
    I’m in the mood for some adventure. I’m in the mood to let my imagination run wild. I’m in the mood to get caught up in the beautiful words of a poem, and to imagine myself as a pirate living dangerously on the high seas. I hope you are too. I enjoyed this post so much I had to go back and find it so I could read it again. Here you are. Enjoy it with me.

    1. That’s so nice to hear! Well it had an odd beginning. There’s a game which simulates running your own game development company, and I named some kind of pirate game “Rum Lugger” and it sold really well. Then I named its sequel game “Gin Smuggler”, and realized I wanted to make a poem out of two together. But that was very vague…

Leave a Reply

