Siren Song


Come stand close and follow me,

To where shells and sand

Embrace sunkissed seas.

Our hands touch where those two meet,

As the tides ebb and flow

Across the glittering beach.

Into the water, if you dare follow me

Ripples of light over skin,

And shells cold under feet.

Calm and quiet wait in the sea

Along the sandy floor

Move into the deep.

Surf overhead now farther away,

Drift below the coral reefsβ€”

And stay forever beneath the waves.

Β© 2012, Elizabeth Cook

28 comments

    1. Thank you very much, a “refined style” sounds really nice! Sadly I will probably stop posting for a while following this Friday. WordPress is just too tempting during exam time 😦

        1. I’ll do my best, the 17th marks the end of my trials for this semester. I’ll regret not reading and writing thanks to WordPress, but I’d probably regret falling grades even more, haha

        2. I’ll do my best, the 17th marks the end of my trials for this semester. I’ll regret not reading and writing thanks to WordPress, but I’d probably regret falling grades even more, haha

      1. Haha must have sounded funny. i wanted to make a comment just entre nous. only a technical thing. but i just read Eric above: refined matches it perfectly well. cheers serge

        1. I see! Well I’ll send you an email when our university server is working again – I dread to know exactly how much they paid for it, because it was definitely too much 😦

      1. Lived on gulf coast Florida near Sarasota for 8yrs and loved it. Would still be there if not for grandkids. Loved the white sand beaches, gorgeous sunsets, warm sunny days, clear cloudless nights with the moon on the water….., I could go on forever !
        Paul

        1. That sounds amazing. I stayed on a beach in North Carolina for a week this summer, my first time in the US, and my first time swimming in the ocean – I bet Florida is nicer though, I really want to see it someday!

          Lily

          1. Lily, if you liked North Carolina, you’d love Gulf Coast Florida, especially around Sarasota. The water is warm, clear and blue, with white sand beaches and an easy lifestyle. Lots to see/do like the Ringling Museum of Art, the beach symphony, the beach, opera, and did I mention the beach! This along with wonderful resturants, clubs, and nightlife. Where do you live?
            Paul

            1. I’ll remember that, Sarasota πŸ™‚ And one day hopefully I’ll be there for a while to enjoy the sightseeing… and the beach! I go between Ottawa and Kingston, and depending on your list Ottawa is around the 4th or 7th coldest capital in the world

              Lily

Leave a Reply

