“Versatile Blogger Award”


luciferknight at Sylvan Historian has kindly nominated me for this “Versatile Blogger Award”, so here are 7 gory details about me:

  1. I can bend over backwards
  2. I played rugby until I dislocated my shoulder
  3. I first went to the US, and swam in the ocean, only this past summer (Canadian, eh)
  4. Every time I go to the gym I get jealous of how much stronger boys are
  5. My father, an English/Latin teacher, read the Lord of the Rings to me when I was 4 or 5 years old. Apparently I didn’t find the nazgul scary
  6. I hate cheese (and milk, and yogurt), but love cheesecake and pizza
  7. When I was young and foolish I wrote a fanfiction story– sadly, it is the longest thing I’ve ever written. Happily, I actually thought of some things of cosmic importance to add to the universe

versatileblogger111

This award entails

  1. linking back to my nominator
  2. displaying the award certificate
  3. presenting my own nominations (up to 15)
  4. …and leaving comments to let those bloggers know
  5. listing 7 things about yourself

Here are some blogs that I’m glad to nominate for this award:

  • Keeping it Real : slice of life, easygoing humour and honesty, and some really insightful pieces
  • theplotneedsmorebourbon : aside from an awesome title, frank and bizarre amusements are to be found in the poetry here. It’s really like I can hear him speaking
  • The Untold Story of Altair and Vega : incredibly insightful and well-written reviews about an art where this is rare – anime. I can’t stress how much these articles sound like they were written for a university English course, and how amazed I am at the quantity of anime they watch without becoming lazy about their reviews
  • Céad Míle Fáilte : one of my favourite places for poetry, and short-and-sweet pieces about anything and everything!
  • Sonnets and Dragonflies : a really amazing array of poetry covering many kinds of subjects, all poignantly written
  • The Eldraeverse : I have mentioned this guy before – he has a stunning collection of encyclopedic, often humorous pieces about his universe dominated by elves out in space
8 comments

  1. It’s evident that your father instilled a deep love for the written word at such a tender age. What a wonderful legacy he has passed down. Also, I can’t believe you don’t like cheese but love pizza. I’m the opposite. I’d rather have a little bit of dough with my cheese.

    Thanks again Lily for the gracious nod to my blog! I’ll never forget the exchange we had about my new found love for sushi. Congratulations on this well deserved honor my friend!

    1. Oh I still haven’t read Day of the Triffids! I get the feeling that fathers decide to re-read something and then think, heck, why not read it to my so-young-they-may-hardly-remember-this children? 😀

  2. “When I was young and foolish”, I wrote Henry Rollins an array of letters. And instead of walking away with his heart, I walked away with his catalog (that he personally sent me)! Congrats!

    Devlin
    BoySlut
    SuckSociety

Leave a Reply

