Primeval


When she turns on point she sets

My nerves alight and singing

Ice over skin, strings over frets

Turning, chilling, plucking

Straight down into my inner dark

Where she is heedless and fierce

Holding over my wanting heart

The ancient mother we share

She turns on point and the skins

Stretched under her feet shiver

Fabric of the world laid thin

For her to know and I to offer

And folding me, she constricts

The light into rings about her

Hers the ripe primeval kiss

To pull from bones their shimmer

4 comments

Leave a Reply

